<em>Renascence</em> (livestream)

Concert Program VII

Renascence (livestream)

With the passage of time, artists can disappear into obscurity while some emerge as immortal. The American George Crumb, who passed away in 2022, is undoubtedly in the pantheon of composers whose legacies are eternal. In this program, his cataclysmic Black Angels, a passionately anti-war statement for amplified string quartet, balances Olivier Messiaen’s Quatuor pour la fin du temps (Quartet for the End of Time), a devoutly spiritual, mystical work composed in a prisoner of war camp. And to open, J. S. Bach consecrates the concert hall with two of his most deeply felt, final works.


Johann Sebastian Bach(1685–1750)
Contrapunctus XIV from The Art of Fugue for String Quartet, BWV 1080 (1742–50)
Johann Sebastian Bach(1685–1750)
Wenn wir in höchsten Nöten sein for String Quartet, BWV 641 (1714–15)
George Crumb(1929–2022)
Black Angels (1970)
Olivier Messiaen(1908–1992)
Quatuor pour la fin du temps (1940–41)
Saturday 10Aug 2024
  • Concert Program VII

    Renascence (livestream)

    Online | 7:00 PM

    Tickets: $25

    buy tickets