2015–2016 Winter Series

Borodin Quartet: Seventieth-Anniversary

When four students assembled at the Moscow Conservatory to play string quartets one afternoon in 1945, they unknowingly set the foundation for what would become one of the world’s finest chamber music ensembles.

Music@Menlo’s 2015–2016 Winter Series began with a concert program of deep substance and musical significance, presenting the Borodin Quartet on the occasion of its seventieth anniversary in an evening of masterworks celebrating its most storied repertoire. Opening with the tenderly nostalgic String Quartet no. 2 by the composer for whom the ensemble is named—Alexander Borodin—the program continued with Shostakovich’s riveting and deeply personal Eighth Quartet. The concert closed with Tchaikovsky’s transcendent Quartet no. 2, a Borodin Quartet classic regarded by Tchaikovsky as one of his best works.

Music@Menlo was honored to present the performance, which delighted the audience and was described as "music modeled after the composer's heart, realized at a level only few performances attain" (San Jose Mercury News).


String Quartet no. 2 in D Major (1881)
String Quartet no. 8 in c minor, op. 110 (1960)
String Quartet no. 2 in F Major, op. 22 (1874)