2016–2017 Winter Series

Pacifica Quartet: Beethoven, Shostakovich, and Ravel

Recognized for its virtuosity, exuberant performance style, and daring repertoire choices, the Pacifica Quartet has gained international stature over the past two decades as one of the finest chamber ensembles performing today. For the second concert of Music@Menlo’s Winter Series, the Pacifica presents an entrancing program of German, French, and Russian masterworks. Beethoven’s energetic String Quartet in B-flat Major, op. 18, no. 6, gives way to Shostakovich’s contemplative Third Quartet, written in 1946, immediately after the conclusion of World War II. The program closes with Ravel’s innovative, richly textured String Quartet in F Major, a chamber music masterpiece of the Impressionist era.


Ludwig van Beethoven(1770–1827)
String Quartet in B-flat Major, op. 18, no. 6 (1800)
Dmitry Shostakovich(1906–1975)
String Quartet no. 3 in F Major, op. 73 (1946)
Maurice Ravel(1875–1937)
String Quartet in F Major (1902–1903)