Focus Residency

Voyage Through the Americas, Behind the Music

This event will be an in-depth discussion illuminating the spirit and background of our unique program. We will examine the lives of the composers, the history of each work, and how these composers were profoundly influenced by one another and their varied musical cultures. We’ll also have some fun demonstrating Cuban percussion instruments and explore the possibilities and challenges of this unique instrumentation. The four of us, just like many of the composers on the program, are the closest of friends and influence each other greatly – so we’re in for a lively discussion of this vibrant music. —Michael Brown and Nick Canellakis, Artist-Curators

Focus Residency events are presented live in the Spieker Center for the Arts. Live stream tickets are also available for those who wish to watch from home.

Friday 22Oct 2021
  • Voyage Through the Americas, Behind the Music

    Spieker Center for the Arts | 7:30 PM

    Tickets: $30 full price; $15 under age thirty

    buy tickets