<em>Voyage through the Americas</em>, Concert Program

Focus Residency

Voyage through the Americas, Concert Program

Voyage Through the Americas celebrates the rich tapestry of musical influences across North and South America, featuring the works of eight iconic composers. Aaron Copland’s El Salón México and George Gershwin’s Cuban Overture complement the music of Brazilian Heitor Villa-Lobos and Argentine Alberto Ginastera. Iconic ragtime piano works by Scott Joplin showcase a genre that infused African American, European Classical, and Caribbean influences, while Samuel Barber’s blend of American and European dances shines in his eclectic Souvenirs. Leonard Bernstein was an ardent champion of Latin American composers; his poignant Three Meditations from Mass is included. Finally, Argentine American Osvaldo Golijov draws on the music of his home country in Mariel, a moving tribute to a departed friend. Featuring unique combinations of piano, cello, and percussion, the program will take listeners on a sizzling journey through both hemispheres.

Focus Residency events are presented live in the Spieker Center for the Arts. Live stream tickets are also available for those who wish to watch from home.


Aaron Copland(1900–1990)
El Salón México for Piano and Percussion (1932–1936; solo piano version arr. Bernstein, 1941)
Leonard Bernstein(1918–1990)
Three Meditations from Mass for Piano, Cello, and Percussion (1977, cello and piano version arr. 1978)
Samuel Barber(1910–1981)
Souvenirs for Piano, Four Hands, op. 28 (1951–1952, arr. 1952)
Osvaldo Golijov(Born 1960)
Mariel for Cello and Marimba (1999)
Heitor Villa-Lobos(1887–1959)
A maré encheu from Guia prático for Solo Piano (1932), O Polichinelo from A prole do bebê for Solo Piano (1918)
Alberto Ginastera(1916–1983)
Pampeana no. 2, Rhapsody for Cello and Piano, op. 21 (1950)
Scott Joplin(1868–1917)
Solace: A Mexican Serenade for Solo Piano (1909); The Ragtime Dance for Solo Piano (1902)
George Gershwin(1898–1937)
Cuban Overture for Piano, Four Hands, and Percussion (1932; four hands version arr. Gershwin, 1933)