Concert Program VI


From the nationalist-minded autodidacticism of its beginnings, the modern tradition of Russian classical music bore the unmistakable stamp of its cultural heritage: Glinka and “the Five”—Balakirev, Borodin, Cui, Mussorgsky, and Rimsky-Korsakov—eschewed Western classicism in order to find their own, distinctly Russian, path. But nearing the turn of the twentieth century, as this tradition developed, a new generation of composers embraced the rigorous technical standards of Brahms and others of their Western counterparts, creating a powerful new repertoire: music as impeccably crafted as the most masterly German scores, yet with its Russian soul blazing more brightly than ever. Concert Program VI celebrates the “Mastery” of Russian music in the generation following Tchaikovsky, juxtaposing music by Prokofiev and Taneyev with the Opus 88 Quintet of Johannes Brahms, whose craftsmanship remains unsurpassed over a century later.


Johannes Brahms(1833–1897)
String Quintet no. 1 in F Major, op. 88 (1882)
Sergei Prokofiev(1891–1953)
Sonata in D Major for Flute and Piano, op. 94 (1943)
Sergei Ivanovich Taneyev(1850–1918)
Piano Quintet in g minor, op. 30 (1910–1911)
Thursday 28Jul 2022
  • A Little Fun

    Spieker Center for the Arts | 7:30 PM

    Tickets: $70–$84 full price; $20–$30 under age thirty

    buy tickets
  • Prelude Performance X*

    5:00 PM

    Tickets: Free

  • Thursday 28Jul 2022
    • Livestream

      Online | 7:30 PM

      Tickets: $25, or $150 for all eight Concert Programs

      buy tickets
    • Prelude Performance X*

      5:00 PM

      Tickets: Free

    • *Prelude Performances and Koret Young Performers Concerts feature young artists from the Chamber Music Institute. Admission is free. read more