2017/18 Winter Series

Schumann Quartet: Haydn, Bartók and Schumann

Music@Menlo’s 2017–2018 Winter Series culminates in a dramatically varied program performed by the sensational Schumann Quartet in its Music@Menlo debut. The Schumann Quartet enjoys a thriving career in Europe and through its recent engagements on our shores is off to the start of an equally vibrant U.S. presence. Offering delights for music lovers of all tastes, the program opens with Haydn’s Sunrise Quartet and is followed by Bartók’s String Quartet no. 2, written by the composer in seclusion outside of Budapest during the First World War. The program closes with Robert Schumann’s deeply expressive String Quartet in F Major, which was published along with two additional string quartets as the composer’s Opus 41.


Franz Joseph Haydn(1732–1809)
String Quartet in B-flat Major, op. 76, no. 4, Sunrise
Béla Bartók(1881–1945)
String Quartet no. 2, op. 17 (1914–1917)
Robert Schumann(1810–1856)
String quartet in F Major, op. 41, no. 2 (1842)