2016–2017 Winter Series

Messiaen, Akiho, and Ravel

Clarinetist David Shifrin joins violinist Alexander Sitkovetsky, pianist Wu Qian, and cellist Mihai Marica, in a program featuring the world premiere of Lost on Chiaroscuro Street, a Music@Menlo commission by composer Andy Akiho, winner of the 2014–2015 Luciano Berio Rome Prize. This new work has been deliberately paired with a work of the same instrumentation, Olivier Messiaen’s iconic Quatuor pour la fin du temps (Quartet for the End of Time), the transcendent 1941 chamber music classic that received its extraordinary premiere in a prisoner-of-war camp.

There will be a pre-concert talk at 3:00 p.m. before the concert, with composer Andy Ahiko, clarinetist David Shifrin, cellist Mihai Marica, moderated by Kai Christiansen. Attendance is free but registration is required – click here to register.

Notes on Lost on Chiaroscuro Street by Andy Akiho.


Maurice Ravel(1875–1937)
Piano trio in a minor (1914)
Andy Akiho(Born 1979)
Music@Menlo commission
Olivier Messiaen(1908–1992)
Quatuor pour la fin du temps (Quartet for the End of Time) (1940–1941)