2016–2017 Winter Series

Konstantin Lifschitz, piano

Music@Menlo’s 2016–2017 Winter Series opens with a boldly immersive journey through J. S. Bach’s Six Partitas for Keyboard (Clavier-Übung I), performed in their entirety by the charismatic Russian pianist Konstantin Lifschitz, an artist known for performing extraordinary feats of musical endurance. Composed while he served as Cantor at the St. Thomas Church in Leipzig, Bach’s Six Partitas were the first of ultimately four installments written to explore the artful study of keyboard instruments. They are as renowned for their dazzling virtuosity as for their ingenious craftsmanship.

“To say that Mr. Lifschitz made his playing look easy would not be quite accurate. What he offered was a performance of such poetry that the question of whether executing it was difficult hardly came to mind.” —Anne Midgette, New York Times


Johann Sebastian Bach(1685–1750)
Six Partitas for Keyboard (Clavier-Übung I) (1725–1731)

Partita no. 1 in B-flat Major, BWV 825

Partita no. 2 in c minor, BWV 826

Partita no. 3 in a minor, BWV 827

Partita no. 4 in D Major, BWV 828

Partita no. 5 in G Major, BWV 829

Partita no. 6 in e minor, BWV 830