Concert Program VI

Chamber Music Now (Livestream)

The most exciting and relevant conclusions to Music@Menlo’s Unfolding of Music festivals have been concerts of music by living composers, bringing the art of chamber music to the present day. This summer, we will hear works by composers born between 1957 and 1981, all of whom are developing the art form with stunning success. From the widely renowned Tan Dun (Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon) to a wildly popular newcomer, Jessie Montgomery (Chicago Symphony’s 2021 Composer-in-Residence), this program hits highlights of the existing chamber repertoire and proudly introduces two new works co-commissioned by the festival.


Jessie Montgomery(Born 1981)
Duo for Violin and Cello (2015)
Wang Jie(Born 1980)
New work, Music@Menlo co-commission
Brett Dean(Born 1961)
Seven Signals for Clarinet, Violin, Cello, and Piano (2019)
David Serkin Ludwig(Born 1974)
New work, Music@Menlo co-commission, world premiere
Tan Dun(Born 1957)
Concerto for Pipa and String Quartet (1999)
Saturday 5Aug 2023
  • Concert Program VI

    Chamber Music Now (Livestream)

    Online | 6:00 PM

    Tickets: $25, or $100 for all six Concert Programs

    buy tickets