Focus Residency

Gilles Vonsattel, Concert Program Livestream

Following the previous night’s musical discussion, this concert begins with selections from J.S. Bach’s final work, The Art of Fugue. Pianist Gilles Vonsattel then presents music by two other admirers of Bach: Shostakovich and Mendelssohn, before Beethoven’s celebrated final piano sonata. Join us for a fascinating journey through some of the most beautiful piano music. Livestream available through December 12.

Music@Menlo’s Focus Residencies offer a mini-festival experience over two days, with an immersive “Behind the Music” learning event on the first evening, and a concert program on the second, to perform the works explored in their entirety.

View the 2022–23 Focus Residencies brochure online.


Johann Sebastian Bach(1685–1750)
Selections from Die Kunst der Fuge (The Art of Fugue), BWV 1080 (ca. 1742–1750)
Dmitry Shostakovich(1906–1975)
Selections from 24 Preludes and Fugues, op. 87 (1950–1951)
Felix Mendelssohn(1809–1847)
Variations sérieuses in D minor, op. 54 (1841)
Johann Sebastian Bach(1685–1750)
Prelude in C major from The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book I (1722)
Johann Sebastian Bach(1685–1750)
Prelude in C minor from The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book I (1722)
Ludwig van Beethoven(1770–1827)
Piano Sonata no. 32 in C minor, op. 111 (1822)