Focus Residency

Art Under a Tombstone, Concert Program

It is hard to believe that Tchaikovsky’s wondrous ballet music was being written only decades before the events of the Russian Revolution of 1917. The subsequent chapter of Russian political history radically altered the course of one of the great musical and literary cultures of the world.
This residency explores Russia’s transformation and the period of Soviet repression through the music of Tchaikovsky and Shostakovich, poems of Aleksandr Blok, and life stories of Alexander Solzhenitsyn, as told by his son, pianist and conductor Ignat Solzhenitsyn.
Ignat will share unpublished works by his father in this deeply personal and multi-dimensional Residency, which features a discussion of music and literature on November 7. This is followed by a performance of Tchaikovsky’s Piano Trio in a minor, and both early and late works by Shostakovich, on Friday, November 8. Curators Gloria Chien and Soovin Kim will also be joined by cellist David Finckel and soprano Hyunah Yu.


Dmitry Shostakovich(1906–1975)
Piano Trio no. 1 in c minor, op. 8 (1923)
Dmitry Shostakovich(1906–1975)
Seven Romances on Poems of Aleksandr Blok for Soprano, Piano, Violin, and Cello, op. 127 (1967)
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky(1840–1893)
Piano Trio in a minor, op. 50 (1881–1882)
Friday 8Nov 2019
  • Art Under a Tombstone, Concert Program

    7:30 PM

    Tickets: $55/$45 full price; $25/$20 under age thirty