2021 Festival

Concert Program VIII

This summer’s eighth concert program is bookended by two of Western music’s most revered masters: Ludwig van Beethoven, whose String Trio op. 9, no. 1, documents the composer’s early professional career; and Johannes Brahms, whose Piano Quintet reveals him at the height of his powers. In between these, the program offers an irresistible miniature by a transformational figure in the violin tradition, the composer-virtuoso Eugene Ysaÿe.

All concert programs are performed at 4:00 p.m. in the Spieker Center for the Arts, Menlo School, and at 6:00 p.m. outdoors in the Middle School Courtyard of Menlo School. You can also watch via livestream – log in to your account on Music@Menlo’s website to watch here.


Ludwig van Beethoven(1770–1827)
String Trio in G major, op. 9, no. 1 (1797–1798)
Eugène Ysaÿe(1858–1931)
Rêve d’enfant (A Child’s Dream), op. 14 (ca. 1895–1900)
Johannes Brahms(1833–1897)
Piano Quintet in F minor, op. 34 (1862)