2021 Festival

Concert Program III

Concert Program III begins with music by two of central Europe’s most distinct compositional voices. The program begins with Leoš Janáček’s haunting Violin Sonata, followed by the riveting Sonata for Solo Cello by György Ligeti. These preface a beloved work by one of Western music’s most hallowed masters: Johannes Brahms’s String Sextet in B-flat, composed in his twenty-seventh year, rings with a grand sonority, affirming what Robert Schumann heard in the young Brahms’s chamber writing as “veiled symphonies.”

All concert programs are performed at 4:00 p.m. in the Spieker Center for the Arts, Menlo School, and at 6:00 p.m. outdoors in the Middle School Courtyard of Menlo School. You can also watch via livestream – log in to your account on Music@Menlo’s website to watch here.


Leoš Janáček(1854–1928)
Violin Sonata (1914–1915; rev. 1916–1922)
György Ligeti(1923–2006)
Sonata for Solo Cello (1953)
Johannes Brahms(1833–1897)
String Sextet no. 1 in B-flat major, op. 18 (1859–1860)
Sunday 23Jul 2023
  • Concert Program III

    From the Heart

    Tickets: $75-$85 full price; $25 under age thirty

    buy tickets
  • Prelude Performance VI*

    2:00 PM

    Tickets: Free

  • *Prelude Performances and Koret Young Performers Concerts feature young artists from the Chamber Music Institute. Admission is free. read more