Coming Together

Concert Program I

The festival’s opening weekend brings together timeless classics of the past with voices of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. The season’s first program celebrates the ritual of gathering with friends to share in the joy of music, bookended by Patrick Castillo’s Gather, written to commemorate the opening of the Spieker Center, and Schubert’s “Trout” Quintet, penned in a matter of days to be enjoyed at a chamber music soiree. These programs also feature music by Mozart, Janácek, György Ligeti, and Arno Babajanian, and culminate in Brahms’s Sextet in B-flat Major, a work of serene majesty.

Please note: Tickets are currently on sale for festival performances via livestream online. If and when it is allowed by health authorities, we will announce opportunities to attend these performances in-person on the Menlo School campus. Tickets purchased for online events can be upgraded for in-person performances when available. All-Access Pass subscribers will receive priority access for these in-person tickets.


Patrick Castillo(Born 1979)
Gather for Cello and Piano (2020)
Johannes Brahms(1833–1897)
Scherzo in C minor, F-A-E (1853)
Franz Schubert(1797–1828)
Quintet in A major for Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello, and Bass, op. posth. 114, D. 667, “Die Forelle” (“The Trout“) (1819)
Friday 16Jul 2021