Concert Program I

Towards the Flame

As Russia marched towards revolution, her music was likewise headed for radical change. The Romantic spirit of Tchaikovsky—nowhere in greater evidence than in his magnificent Serenade for Strings—found its torchbearer a generation later in Sergei Rachmaninov. Meanwhile, Rachmaninov’s boyhood schoolmate Aleksandr Scriabin developed a bold new language of his own, as audacious as it was fiercely expressive. This summer’s first Concert Program follows the course of Russian music at the turn of the twentieth century, from Romanticism vers la flamme (towards the flame). The evening culminates with The Rite of Spring, Stravinsky’s sea-parting masterpiece that forever changed Western music.


Sergei Rachmaninov(1873–1943)
Suite no. 2 in c minor for Two Pianos, op. 17 (1900–1901)
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky(1840–1893)
Serenade in C Major for Strings, op. 48 (1880)
Aleksandr Nikolayevich Scriabin(1871–1915)
Preludes for Piano, Andante in B Major, op. 16, no. 1 (1894–1895), Andante in B-flat Major, op. 11, no. 21 (1896)
Aleksandr Nikolayevich Scriabin(1871–1915)
Vers la flamme (Towards the Flame) op. 72 (1914)
Igor Stravinsky(1882–1971)
Le sacre du printemps (The Rite of Spring) for Piano, Four Hands (1911–1913)
Saturday 15Jul