Carte Blanche Concert I

Paul Huang and Wu Han

The brilliant young violinist Paul Huang returns to Music@Menlo, joining Artistic Codirector Wu Han in a program of Romantic violin sonatas. The program begins with Beethoven’s Sonata in G Major, op. 30, no. 3, a work that finds the composer on the cusp of his celebrated “heroic” style, soon to single-handedly usher music into the Romantic period. The exquisite d minor Sonata of Johannes Brahms, Beethoven’s heir apparent, follows. Alongside the works of these guardians of the Viennese tradition, the program offers Bartók’s signature Hungarian Folk Tunes and concludes with the Parisian esprit of Saint-Saëns’s First Violin Sonata.


Ludwig van Beethoven(1770–1827)
Violin Sonata in G Major, op. 30, no. 3 (1801–1802)
Johannes Brahms(1833–1897)
Violin Sonata in d minor, op. 108 (1886–1888)
Béla Bartók(1881–1945)
Hungarian Folk Tunes (arr. Szigeti in 1926 from Bartók’s For Children)
Camille Saint-Saëns(1835–1921)
Violin Sonata no. 1 in d minor, op. 75 (1885)