2017/18 Winter Series

Montrose Trio: Shostakovich, Beethoven, and Brahms

Virtuoso pianist Jon Kimura Parker and former Tokyo String Quartet members Martin Beaver and Clive Greensmith open the 2017–2018 Winter Series, performing a program of Shostakovich, Beethoven, and Brahms that offers a rare opportunity to revel in the youthful yet unmistakably refined craftsmanship of these composers’ very first forays into composing for piano trio. Beginning with Shostakovich’s beguiling Piano Trio no. 1 in c minor followed by Beethoven’s simply joyful Opus 1 Number 1 Trio, the program concludes with Brahms’s own First Piano Trio in B Major in an enchanting survey of some of the earliest works of the composers’ extensive oeuvres.


Dmitry Shostakovich(1906–1975)
Piano Trio no. 1 in c minor, op. 8 (1923)
Ludwig van Beethoven(1770–1827)
Piano Trio in E-flat Major, op. 1, no. 1 (1794)
Johannes Brahms(1833–1897)
Piano Trio no. 1 in B Major, op. 8 (1854, rev. 1889)


Sunday 12Nov